Urgent Call for Nominations

PREPS is seeking nominations for our Special Awards by Friday, February 12, 2021. Please see the receipent list below for past winners. You may email your nomination to admin@mspreps.org. Winners will be announced on March 5, at our virtual award ceremony which will also kick off our free virtual conference on-demand conference for March 2021!

PREPS Special Awards Recent Recipient List

The Hugh I. Peck Memorial Research Award was established in memory of Dr. Hugh Peck, former Executive Director of PREPS. It is awarded to school districts or other educational organizations that have participated in worthwhile research

and development for the betterment of schools in the state.

2017 –

· Mr. Chad Shealy, Superintendent – Vicksburg Warren Public Schools

· Mrs. Kelly A. Butler, Director Barksdale Reading Institute

· Dr. Linda H. Southward – Mississippi KIDS COUNT Program

2018 –

· Mr. Glen East, Superintendent – Gulfport Public School District

2019 –

· Dr. Wanda Maulding-Green, Author and Professor

· Dr. Ed Leonard, Author and Professor

2020 -

· Dr. Wayne Rodolfich, Superintendent Pascagoula-Gautier School District

The Dan Merritt Courage Award was given at the first PREPS Winter Conference in 1996 to Dr. Dan Merritt who was chosen as the first recipient for his continued and repeated service to the Jackson Public School System. In memory of Dr. Merritt, this award was established for a school district or an individual who is recognized for taking a professional risk for the greater good of Mississippi Public Schools.


· Canton, Mississippi Early Learning Collaborative

· Clarke County Early Learning Partnership

· Coahoma County Pre-K Collaborative, Clarksdale

· Corinth-Alcorn-Prentiss Early Learning Collaborative, Corinth

· Greenwood-Leflore County Early Learning Collaborative,

· Leflore County

· Grenada Early Learning Collaborative

· Lamar County Early Learning Collaborative

· McComb Community Collaborative for

· Early Learning Success

· Monroe Early Learning Collaborative

· Petal Early Learning Collaborative

· Picayune School District Early Head Start

· Sunflower County Early Learning Collaborative

· Starkville Oktibbeha Early Learning Collaborative

· Tallahatchie Early Learning Alliance

2018 –

· Dr. Amy Carter, Superintendent– Meridian Public School District

· Mr. Brian Freeman, Superintendent – Forrest County School District

· Dr. Robert Williams, Superintendent – Hattiesburg Public Schools

2019 –

· Dr. Bonita Coleman, Superintendent Ocean Springs School District

· Dr. Cortez Moss, Mississippi Department of Education

2020 –

· Dr. Lee Childress, Corinth Public Schools

The PREPS Partner Award is awarded to the partner who has generously given time and effort in assisting PREPS to make positive strides in Mississippi public schools.

· 2017 – Generation Ready, Dr. Tricia Bridges, Consultant

· 2018 - School Law Updates, Dr. Johnny Purvis, Author

· 2019 – Mississippi Professional Educators, Mrs. Kelly Riley, Executive Director

· 2020 – Phil Hardin Foundation, Mr. Lloyd Gray, Executive Director

Featured Posts
Recent Posts